Engage, enlighten, explore - at your library Library Ask Us
http://www.usask.ca/

University Library

 
 
Technical Writing - Engineering Library
 
Engineering Coat of Arms
Room 1B08, Engineering Building, 57 Campus Drive, Saskatoon SK, Canada S7N 5A9 306-966-5976

Scientific & Technical Writing:
Selected Library Resources

Research Papers/Term Papers/ Reports: a Guide
Writing Theses & Theses Proposals
Engineering Presentations, Talks and Seminars.

General Guides

Ethics in technical communications: shades of gray.by L.A. Allen, New York: Wiley, 1997 T10.5 .A44 1997
The craft of scientific writingby M. Alley, Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Prentice Hall, T11 .A37 1996
Technical communication in the global communityby D.C. Andrews, Saddle River, NJ: Prentice Hall, T11 .A515
A guide to writing as an engineer by D.F. Beer & D.A. McMurrey, New York: Wiley, T11 .B396
Writing and speaking in the technology professions: a practical guide by David Beer, New York: IEEE Press, T11 .W75
Writing better technical articles. by H Bjelland, Blue Ridge Summit, PA: Tab, 1990.
T11 .B58
The elements of technical writing by G. Blake, & R.W. Bly., New York: Macmillan, T11 .B628
Technically-write! by R.S. Blicq, Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Prentice Hall Canada, T11 .B62
Writing reports to get results: guidelines for the computer age. by R.S.Blicq, New York: IEEE Press, HF5719 .B55
Better scientific and technical writing by M.I. Bolsky, Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Prentice Hall, T11 .B633
Writing for technical professionals. by D.D. Booher, New York: Wiley, T11 .B635 1989
Communicating in science: writing and speaking. by V. Booth, London: Cambridge University Press, Q223 .B765
Technical communication and its application. by J.N. Borowick, Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Prentice Hall, T11 .B75
Technical communication and ethics. by R.J. Brockmann, Washington: Society for Technical Communication, T11 .T43
Handbook of technical writing. by C.T. Brusaw, New York: St. Martin Press, T11 .B78
Form and Style: Theses, Reports, Term Papers. Boston: Houghton Mifflin. LB2369 .C192
Human factors for technical communicators. by M. Coe, New York: Wiley, T10.5 .C64
Writing the research paper: a guide and sourcebook. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, LB2369 .C955
Communication for engineering students. by John Davies, Harlow, UK: Longman, TA158.5 .D38
How to write and publish a scientific paper. by R.A.Day, Phoenix: Oryx Press, T11 .D33
Writing skills for technical students.Delaware Technical & Community College, Englewood cliffs, NJ: Prentice Hall, PE1479 .B87W75
The art of scientific writing: from student reports to professional publications in chemistry and related fields. by Hans Frederick Ebel et al, Weinheim: VCH, QD9.15 .E23
A beginner's guide to technical communication.by Anne Eisenberg, Boston: WCB/McGraw-Hill, T10.5 .E3597
Effective technical communication. by Anne Eisenberg, New York: McGraw-Hill, T10.5 .E36
Communication for engineers: bridge that gap. by Richard Ellis, New York: Wiley, T10.5 .E45
Science writing for beginners. by A.D. Farr, Oxford: Blackwell Scientific, T11 .F278 1985
Writing technical articles, speeches, and manuals. by M Forbes, New York: Wiley, T11 .F58
Presenting science to the public. by Barbara Gastel, Philadelphia: ISI Press, Q223 .G38
Writing mathematics well: a manual for authors. by Leonard Gillman, Washington: Mathematical Association of America, T11 .G477
Construction specifications writing. by Clifford Green, Toronto: McGraw-Hill Ryerson, TH425 .G744
Roger Haines on report writing: a guide for engineers. Blue Ridge Summit, PA: TAB, T10.5 .H35
Developing quality technical information: a handbook for writers and editors. Saddle River, NJ: Prentice Hall, T11 .D4845
A guide for writing better technical papers. New York: IEEE Press, 1982.
MAIN T11 .G84
Using the internet, online services, & CD-Rom's for writing research and term papers. New York: Neal-Schuman Publishers, LB1047.3 .U75
Writing engineering specifications. by Jeremy Haslam, London: Spon, K891 .B8H37
Research: how to plan, speak, and write about it. New York: Springer, Q180 .A1R425
Handbook of effective technical communications. by Tyler Hicks, New York: McGraw-Hill, T10.5 .H53
Writing for science, industry, and technology.by Howard Hirschhorn, New York: Van Nostrand, T11 .H56
The consultant's guide to proposal writing: how to satisfy your clients and double your income.by Herman Holtz, New York: Wiley, HF5718.5 .H63
Reporting technical information by Kenneth Houp, Boston: Allyn & Bacon, T11 .H83
Handbook of technical writing practices. by Stello Jordan, 2v. New York: Wiley-Interscience, T11 .J823
Elements of the scientific paper. by Michael Katz, New Haven: Yale University Press, T11 .K228
Visual cues: practical data visualization by Peter Keller, Piscataway, NJ: IEEE Press, 1993.Q175 .K29
The handbook of technical writing: form and style. San Diego: Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, ENGIN T11 .L43
Writing research papers: a complete guide. by J. D. Lester, Glenview, IL: Scott, Foresman, LB2369 .L64
Handbook for academic authors. by Beth Luey, Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, PN146 .L84
The practice of technical and scientific communication: writing in professional contexts. Stamford, CT: Ablex Publishing Corporation, T11 .P73
Technical writing: situations and strategies. by Michael Markel, New York: St. Martin's Press, T11 .M37
Writing in the technical fields: a step-by-step guide for engineers, scientists, and technicians by Michael Markel, Piscataway, N.J.: I.E.E.E., T11 .M378 1994
Writing in engineering: a handbook for engineers by Cecilia Mavrow, Toronto: McGraw-Hill Ryerson, T11 .M38
Dynamic communication for engineers. NY: A.S.C.E., TA158.5 .M37
How to write and publish engineering papers and reports. by Herbert B. Michaelson, Phoenix: Oryx Press, T11 .M418
Critical thinking and writing for science and technology. by Thomas H. Miles, San Diego: Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, T11 .M48
Engineered writing: a manual for scientific, technical, and business writers. by Melba Jerry Murray, Tulsa: Pennwell Books, PE1478 .M98
The MIT guide to science and engineering communication. by James Paradis, Cambridge, MA: MIT Press, Q223 .P33
Communicating technical information: a guide for the electronic age. by Donald Pattow, Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice Hall, T10.5 .P3785
Technical writing for industry: an operations manual for the technical writer by Larry Riney, Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice Hall, T11 .R57
Technical communication: the practical craft by Maris Roze, Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice Hall, T10.5 .R65
Science and technical writing: a manual of style NY: Holt, T11 .S378
The technical writing process. by Marilyn Schauer Samuels, New York: O.U.P., T11 .S26
Writing and designing manuals: operator manuals, service manuals, manuals for international markets. Chelsea, MI: Lewis, T11 .S376
Communication for professional engineers. London: Telford, TA190 .S36
SHORTLAND, M. & GREGORY, J. Communicating science: a handbook. Harlow: Longman, Q223 .S48
The Stockwell guide for technical and vocational writing. by Richard Stockwell, Reading, MA.: Addison- Wesley, T11 .S828
Mathematics into type: copy editing and proofreading of mathematics for editorial assistants and authors. Providence: American Mathematical Association, T11 .S96
Technical editing: the practical guide for editors and writers Reading, MA: Addison-Wesley, T11.4 .T37
Envisioning information. by Edward R. Tufte, Cheshire, CT: Graphics Press, P93.5 .T84
The visual display of quantitative information. by Edward R. Tufte, Cheshire, CT: Graphics Press, QA276.3 .T83
Visual explanations: images and quantities, evidence and narrative. by Edward R. Tufte, Cheshire, CT: Graphics Press, P93.5 .T846
The DP professional's guide to writing effective technical communications. by J. Van Duyn, New York: Wiley, T11 .V36
A handbook of writing for engineers. by Joan Van Emden, London: Macmillan, T11 .V37
Engineering your writing success: how engineers can master effective on-the-job communication skills. Belmont, CA: Professional Publications, T11 .V55
How to edit technical documents by D.W.Walsh and C.P. Campbell. Phoenix: Oryx Press, T11.4 .B87
Basic technical writing. by H.M. Weisman. Columbus, Oh.: Merrill, T11 .W4197
Editing the refereed scientific journal: practical, political, and ethical issues New York: IEEE Press, T11.4 .E345
The writing system for engineers and scientists by Edmond H. Weiss. Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Prentice Hall, T11 .W44
Put it in writing by John Whale. London: Dent, PE1421 .W43
The scientist's handbook for writing papers and dissertations by Antoinette Miele Wilkinson Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice Hall, T11 .W54
Writing like an engineer: a rhetorical education by Dorothy A. Winsor. Mahwah, NJ: Erlbaum, T11 .W55
Effective writing strategies for engineers and scientists by Donald C. Woolston. Chelsea, MI: Lewis Publishers, T11 .W66
An outline of scientific writing: for researchers with English as a foreign language by Jen Tsi Yang. River Edge, N.J: World Scientific, T11 .Y36

Style Guides and Standards

American National Standards Institute (ANSI) TK275 .I.591 Search volumes listed for the following numbers :

Z39.29 for American National Standard for bibliographic references ANSI Z39.29 - 1977.
Z39.4 for American National Standard for library and information sciences and related publishing practices - basic criteria for indexes. ANSI Z39.4 - 1984.
Z39.5 for American National Standard for library and information sciences - abbreviations of titles of publications. ANSI Z39.5 - 1985.
Z39.18 for American National Standard guidelines for format and production of scientific and technical reports. ANSI Z39.18 - 1974.
Z39.16 for American National Standard for the preparation of scientific papers for written or oral presentation. ANSI Z39.16 - 1979.
Publication manual of the American Psychological Association. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, BF76.7 .A51
The Official ASAE Style Guide for Refereed Publications, Monographs, and Textbooks by the American Society of Agricultural Engineers.
ASCE authors' guide to journals, books, and reference publications by the American Society of Civil Engineers. New York: A.S.C.E., T11 .A54 1988
American Society of Mechanical Engineers
An ASME paper ASME Manual MS-4. New York: A.S.M.E., 1984. T11 .A545
Presenting your ASME paper...in the best light: a practical guide for authors and presenters New York: ASME, 1989. ASME MS-4A. T10.5 .P74
The Canadian style: a guide to writing and editing. Toronto: Published by Dundurn Press in co-operation with Public Works and Government Services Canada, Translation Bureau PN147 .C1862 1997
Chicago guide to preparing electronic manuscriptsfor authors and publishers. Chicago: Chicago University Press, 1987, Z286.E43U54 1987
Chicago manual of style for authors, editors, and copywriters. Chicago: Chicago University Press, Z253 .U69 1993
Scientific style and format: the CBE manual for authors, editors, and publishers Cambridge: Council of Biological Editors, T11 .S386
MLA handbook for writers of research papers. New York: Modern Language Association of America LB2369 .G53
Government of Canada style manual for writers and editors. Ottawa: Queen's Printer, Z253 .C271
Information for IEEE Transactions and Journal authors. New York: Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, T11 .I.54
Electronic style: a guide to citing electronic information. by X. Li & N.B. Crane, Wesport, CT: Meckler, 1993 PN171 .D37L5
Electronic manuscript preparation and markup.by the National Information Standards Organization (U.S.)Bethesda, MD: NISO Press, 1995. ANSI/NISO/ISO 12083-1995 QA76.76 .H94N38
Scientific and technical reports: elements, organization, and design.by the National Information Standards Organization (U.S.) Bethesda, MD: NISO Press, ANSI/NISO Z39.18-1995 T11 .N284 1995
Thesaurus of scientific, technical, and engineering terms. Philadelphia: Hemisphere, Z695.1 .S3T52
Bibliographic style manual. by D. Thibault., Ottawa: National Library of Canada, Z1001 .T45 1990

Internet Resources

Below are a selection of resources available over the Internet.
The Official ASAE Style Guide for Refereed Publications, Monographs, and Textbooks
American Institute of Chemical Engineers Guide for Authors
Allyn & Bacon's CompSite for English Composition from the publisher of many books on the topic.
ASME Author's Kit and Writer's Guidelines: Lots of information and guidelines.
The craft of scientific writing: Michael Alley's home page for his book of the same title which includes exercises, teacher's manual, etc.
 Electronic References & Scholarly Citations of Internet Sources from the The World-Wide Web Virtual Library.
IEEE information for authors : Information on style requirements, with examples.
Purdue University On-Line Writing Laboratory : Offers a variety of services, including materials on topics such as commas, resumes, formats for citing sources, non-sexist language and other information, plus useful links to source information for your research papers and other writing.
Style manual: hypermedia and document design : Yale C/AIM WWW style manual: interface design. Hypermedia and conventional document design.
Technical writing on the Internet : This page by Gary Conroy aims to provide a set of references to technical writing resources on the Internet.

Journal Articles

Bates, G. D. Upgrading written communication: your firm's and your own. ASCE Journal of Professional Issues in Engineering, 109(1) Jan. 1983, 26-38. TA1 .A5P84

Corbett, M. Z. Clearing the air: some thoughts on gender-neutral writing. IEEE Trans. Professional Communication, PC-33(1) March 1990, 2-6. TK7800 .I.59T7PC

Crider, S. S. Plain engineering: philosophical and ethical view. ASCE Journal of Professional Issues in Engineering, 116(2) April 1990, 148-155. TA1 .A5P84

Gilsdrof, J. W. Writing to persuade. IEEE Trans. Professional Communication, PC-30(2) June 1987, 68-73. TK7800 .I.59T7PC

Gregory, M. W. The infectiousness of pompous prose. Nature, 360(6399) 5 November 1992, 11-12. Q1 .N28

Legal and ethical aspects of technical communication: a special issue. IEEE Trans. Professional Communication, PC-30(3) Sept. 1987, 117-211.
TK7800 .I.59T7PC

Plung, D. L. Add style to your technical writing. IEEE Trans. Professional Communication, PC-27(1) March 1984, 20-24. TK7800 .I.59T7PC

Ulrich, G. D. Write a good technical report. IEEE Trans. Professional Communication, PC-27(1) March 1984, 14-19. TK7800 .I.59T7PC