engage, enlighten, explore at your library University of Saskatchewan

University Library

       
Writing Theses and Finding Copies - Engineering Library
 

 

Engineering Coat of Arms
Room 1B08, Engineering Building, 57 Campus Drive, Saskatoon SK, Canada S7N 5A9 306-966-5976

Writing Theses & Finding Copies:
Selected Library Resources

  • This guide lists publications available in the University of Saskatchewan Library that will help you in selecting your topic, writing a proposal, organising your research, and presenting your results.
  • It is NOT a comprehensive list.
  • Other related Engineering Library Guides include Research Papers/Term Papers/ Reports: a Guide, Scientific & Technical Writing and Engineering Presentations, Talks and Seminars.
  • There are a number of other informational guides to the resources in the University of Saskatchewan Library that may be of use to you. Check in each of the Branch Libraries for further information.

Books:

Balian, E.S. The graduate research guidebook: a practical approach to Doctoral/Masters research. Lanham, MD: University Press of America, LB2369 .B242

Beach, D. P. & Alvager, T.K.E. Handbook for scientific and technical research. Englewood Cliffs: Prentice Hall, Q180.3 .B43

Bloom, D. F. The Ph.D. process: a student's guide to graduate school in the sciences. New York: Oxford University Press, 1998.
Q181 .B63

Booth, W. C. The craft of research. Chicago: U. Chicago Pr., Q180.55 .M4B66

Bryant, Miles Taft The Portable dissertation advisor Thousand Oaks, Calif. Corwin LB 1742 .B79

Campbell, W.G. Form and Style: Theses, Reports, Term Papers. Boston: Houghton Mifflin. LB2369 .C192

Ebel, Hans Friedrich.; Claus Bliefert; William E. Russey The Art of scientific writing : from student reports to professional publications in chemistry and related fields Wiley-VCH QD 9.15 .E23

Fink, A. Conducting research literature reviews: from paper to the Internet. Thousand Oaks, CA: New York: Sage Publications, Q180.55 .M4F56

Fisher, C. M. and John Buglear Researching and writing a dissertation for business students Harlow England Prentice Hall Financial Times LB 2369.F57

Garson, G. David Guide to writing empirical papers, theses, and dissertations.New York : Marcel Dekker LB 2369 .G27

Hamna, Eleanor, The Thesis and the book; a guide for first-time academic authors Toronto, U of T Press Z286.S37T53

Hawley, P. Being bright is not enough: the unwritten rules of doctoral study. Springfield, IL: C. C. Thomas, LB2386 .h38

Houp, Kenneth W. Reporting technical information. New York : Oxford University Press, Engin. T11 .H83 2006

Jeter, Sheldon M. Writing style and standards in undergraduate reports Glen Allen, Va. : College Pub. Engin LB2369 .J48 2004

Keller, Arnold, The practical technical writer : planning and producing documents New York : Pearson/Longman. Engin T11 .K42 2004

Knight, H. J. Patent strategy for researchers and research managers. NY: Wiley, KF3120 .Z9K58

Locke, Lawrence F. Proposals that work : a guide for planning dissertations and grant proposals Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage. Engin Q180.55 .P7L63 2000

Madsen, D. Successful Dissertations and Theses. San Francisco, Calif.: Jossey-Bass. LB2369 .M32

Malmfors, Birgitta. Writing and presenting scientific papers Nottingham : Nottingham University Press. Engin Q225.5 .M35 2004

Mauch, J.E. Guide to the Successful Thesis and Dissertation: Conception to Publication: a Handbook for Students and Faculty. New York: M. Dekker. LB2369 .M377

Miller, Jane E. The Chicago guide to writing about numbers Chicago : University of Chicago Press. Engin T11 .M485 2004

Montgomery, Scott L. The Chicago guide to communicating science Chicago : University of Chicago Press. Engin T10.5 .M65 2003

Natural Sciences & Engineering Research Council. Scholarships & Grants in Aid of Research. Latest edition.

Peterson, S. L. The research writer's phrase book: a guide to proposal writing and research phraseology. San Francisco: International Scholars Publications, Q180.55 .P7P48

Preece, R. A. Starting research: an introduction to academic research and dissertation writing. New York: Pinter Publishers, LB2369 .P69

Rudestam, K. E. Surviving your dissertation: a comprehensive guide to content and process. Newbury Park, CA: Sage, LB2369 .R83

Savage, Gerald J. and Dale L. Sullivan Writing a professional life : stories of technical communicators on and off the job Boston, Mass. : Allyn and Bacon. Engin .W74 2001

Slade, C. Form and style: research papers, reports, theses. Boston: Houghton Mifflin. LB2369 .C192

Stim, Richard License your invention Berkeley Calif. Nolo.com 200 Electronic Book KF3145.Z9 S75

Thomas, R. Murray Blending qualitative & quantitative research methods in theses and dissertations Thousand Oaks Calif. Corwin Press LB 2369.T4579

University Of Saskatchewan. Guide for the preparation of a thesis. LE3 .S765G8 1996[Print version] Guide for the preparation of a thesis. [Web version].

Wilkinson, A.M. The scientist's handbook for writing papers and dissertations. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice Hall, 1991. T11 .W54

Wolcott, Harry F. Writing up qualitative research. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications. Engin T11 .W64 2001

Indexes, Abstracts and Full-Text Electronic Dissertations:

The major indexing/abstracting tool for finding submitted graduate dissertations and theses is ProQuest Digital Dissertations from UMI.  It is the Web version of Dissertation Abstracts. With more than 2 million entries, UMI's Dissertation Abstracts database is the one central, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester; those published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts, written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Of the 2 million titles listed, UMI offers over a million in full text. For these titles, the database citation includes UMI's order number. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities. We add some 47,000 new dissertations and 12,000 new theses to the database each year.

NDLTD: Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations. A growing archive, and links to archives, of dissertations submitted in electronic format, together with lots of other useful information, including guidance on how to prepare a dissertation in electronic format. Based at Virginia Tech, but with links and input from Universities around the world.

Index to Theses accepted for higher degrees by the universities of Great Britain and Ireland. This database covers theses accepted from 1970 to 2000.

How to locate a University of Saskatchewan Thesis

A Copy of every thesis is held in Special Collections, Main Library.

These are located by searching the library catalogue. Some of the more recent dissertations are electronic and also accessible through the catalogue, or The ETD Portal

How to acquire Canadian Theses

Canadian thesis distribution is managed by the National Library of Canada (NLC).

To find a thesis citation, access an electronic version of it (*possibly), or borrow it from them (through the U of S library), see the Theses Canada Portal.

To purchase a Canadian thesis go to NLC's licensed distributor Proquest Digital Dissertations (formerly UMI)- their website, or email or call tollfree 1-800-521-3042.

* Full text electronic versions of Canadian theses and dissertations are available in PDF format for those theses published after 1997