What is a Peer Mentor?

A Peer Assisted Learning (PAL) Peer Mentor is an academically strong undergraduate student who participates in developing and delivering learning support programs, taking a lead in an academic support community at the U of S. Some Peer Mentors act as coaches for course-specific study groups assigned to a select set of larger, traditionally difficult undergraduate courses, some provide support for study and learning skills by leading small-group workshops, and others work with specialized projects or programs in the SLS and other units on campus. A philosophy underlying all PAL programs is to provide positive, safe, and comfortable learning environments that encourage and support students in their academic pursuits.

Choose one of the buttons below to find out more information about our current and former Peer Mentors, or to find out how to get involved yourself!

Staff Coordinators

Sarah McCaslin Peer Assisted Learning and Grad Help (306) 966-2646 sarah.mccaslin@usask.ca
Gina Kohen Study Skills (306) 966-2738 gina.koehn@usask.ca
Holly Fraser Structured Study Sessions (306) 966-2742 holly.fraser@usask.ca
Liv Marken Writing Help (306) 966-2771 liv.marken@usask.ca
Joel Fonstad Learning Communities (306) 966-8057 joel.fonstad@usask.ca
Erin Holcomb Communications (306) 966-8056 erin.holcomb@usask.ca
Donna van de Velde PAL Program Support (306) 966-2886 donna.vandevelde@usask.ca
Jerrod Dietrich Tech Help (306) 966-4825 jerrod.dietrich@usask.ca
Darlene Fichter Library Skills (306) 966-7209 darlene.fichter@usask.ca
Eva Wong Library Skills (306) 966-5988 eva.wong@usask.ca
Kara Loy Undergraduate Research (306) 966-7127 kara.loy@usask.ca
Lori Slater-Pollock Arts & Science Learning Communities (306) 966-4327 lori.slater@usask.ca
Paul Thompson Arts & Science Learning Communities (306) 966-7802 paul.thompson@usask.ca
Ashley Pearse Arts & Science Learning Communities (306) 922-8793 ashley.pearse@usask.ca