What is a Peer Mentor?

A Peer Assisted Learning (PAL) Peer Mentor is an academically strong undergraduate student who participates in developing and delivering learning support programs, taking a lead in an academic support community at the U of S. Some Peer Mentors act as coaches for course-specific study groups assigned to a select set of larger, traditionally difficult undergraduate courses, some provide support for study and learning skills by leading small-group workshops, and others work with specialized projects or programs in the SLS and other units on campus. A philosophy underlying all PAL programs is to provide positive, safe, and comfortable learning environments that encourage and support students in their academic pursuits.

Choose one of the buttons below to find out more information about our current and former Peer Mentors, or to find out how to get involved yourself!

Staff Coordinators

Elana Geller Peer Assisted Learning and Grad Help (306) 966-2646 elana.geller@usask.ca
Gina Koehn Study Skills, Structured Study Sessions for Bio 120 (306) 966-2738 gina.koehn@usask.ca
Paul Dick Structured Study Sessions for Bio 120 (306) 966-4493 paul.dick@usask.ca
Holly Fraser Structured Study Sessions for Phys 115 & Math 121 (306) 966-2742 holly.fraser@usask.ca
Liv Marken Writing Help (306) 966-2771 liv.marken@usask.ca
Joel Fonstad Learning Communities (306) 966-8057 joel.fonstad@usask.ca
Erin Holcomb SLS Assistant and Tech Skills Support (306) 966-8056 erin.holcomb@usask.ca
Donna van de Velde PAL Program Support and Study Skills Support (306) 966-2886 donna.vandevelde@usask.ca
Jerrod Dietrich Tech Skills (306) 966-4825 jerrod.dietrich@usask.ca
Angie Gerrard Library Skills (306) 966-6004 angie.gerrard@usask.ca
Eva Wong Library Skills and Learning Communities Support (306) 966-5988 eva.wong@usask.ca
Kara Loy Undergraduate Research (306) 966-7127 kara.loy@usask.ca