Agricultural Bioresource Engineering
Books of interest to Engineers.
Search Engines for the WEB
Dictionary of Units The site provides a summary
of most of the units of measurement in use today, together with the appropriate
conversion needed to change them into standard unis the Systeme International d'Unites (SI)
Key guide to electronic resources: agriculture edited by W. Drew
ENGIN/Ref S494.5 .A39K49
The literature of agricultural engineering edited by C. W. Hall, W.C. Olsen
ENGIN S674.3 .L58
The Electronic Journals Library or Elektronische Zeitschriftenbibliothek (EZB) is hosted by the Max Planck Society, Germany, and provides access to many open access (free) journal titles.
About 600 of the 1,400 journals are open access. The contents pages of all are
freely available but full text articles of the non open access are restricted to
subscribers.
Indexes, Abstracts and Databases
- Note: Indexes and abstracts are tools for finding information in journal publications, many of which may be available
in the University of Saskatchewan Library. To find out whether the Library subscribes to a particular journal, check the Journal, Magazine Title Index in the Catalogueor List of Electronic Journals
- AGRICOLA:
- Compiled by the US Department of Agriculture, contains citations from the items in agriculture and related areas that have been acquired by the National Agricultural Library. Corresponds in part to the printed
Bibliography of Agriculture. Covers from 1970.
- ASAE Agricultural Engineering Index
- A downloadable computer file with an index of agricultural engineering articles dating back to the 1950's.
Print version 1907 to 1990
-
Biological Abstracts
- Biological Abstracts on CD provides the most comprehensive coverage of worldwide journal literature and conference papers
in the life sciences.
1990 - present. Printed volumes 1927 - 1989
- CAB Abstracts:
- Produced by the Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux, this database is an index of articles on all agricultural related topics. CAB Abstracts has a more international focus than Agricola. 1972 to current.
- SciFinder Scholar:
- Comprehensive database of chemistry information back to 1907. Includes information such as patents, structures, reactions registry numbers. The Sub-Structure Module enables chemical sub-structure searches.
- Engineering Village 2:
- The computerised equivalent of the printed Engineering Index, covering all aspects of technology literature worldwide from 1970.
- HYDAT:
- Hydrodata Canadian Surface Water, contains quantitative surface water data from almost a century of observations of stream flows and lake levels by the Water Survey of Canada and cooperating agencies.
- NTIS:
- The NTIS database from 1990 covers US Government-sponsored research, development,
and engineering reports plus analyses prepared by federal agencies, their contractors,
or grantees. Truly multi-disciplinary, this database covers a wide spectrum of subjects
including: business, environment, health and military.
- Proquest Digital Dissertations:
- This database is the one central, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations
and master's theses. The database includes citations for materials ranging from the first
U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester.
- SAE
Publications & Standards Database on CD-ROM:
- Contains comprehensive coverage of the Society of Automotive Engineers'technical
publications dating back to 1906. Valuable for automotive and aerospace information.
Contains standards, specifications, articles, books, research and technical reports.
- Web of Science
- The ISI Web of Science Citation Databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, Arts &
Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index) are multidisciplinary databases of
bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals from 1990 to current.
One can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/ or author address. Each article includes
the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography, so one can also search the database
for articles that cite a known author or work.
-
Water Resources Abstracts:
- Prepared from materials collected by over 50 water research centres and institutes in the United States. The file covers a wide range of water resource topics, including water resource economics, ground and surface water hydrology, metropolitan water resources planning and management, etc. The collection is particularly strong in the literature on water planning, water cycle, and water quality. Coverage is from 1968. Available on CD-ROM in the Engineering Library at:
Standards
American Society of Agricultural Engineers. Agricultural Engineers Yearbook of Standards.
American Society for Testing and Materials Standards
Canadian Electrical Code.
Canadian Farm Building Code
Canadian Standards Association. Standards.
National Building Code of Canada.
Prairie Agricultural Machinery Institute. Reports.
Society of Automotive Engineers. SAE Handbook.
As well, much information on standards and specifications can be found through the Standards Council Of Canada WWW pages and links.
|
U of S College of Engineering Department of Agricultural and Bioresource Engineering
Agriculture:
AgriWeb Canada
World-Wide Web Virtual Library: Agriculture
Associations & Societies:
American Society of Agricultural Engineers (ASAE)
APEGS: Association of Professional Engineers & Geoscientists of Saskatchewan
Canadian Society of Agricultural Engineering (CSAE)
Canadian Design Engineering Network (CDEN) is organized to promote the development and
sharing of educational engineering designs tools to all engineering schools in Canada.
Canadian Water Resources Association
Council for Agricultural Science and Technology (CAST)
International Commission of Agricultural Engineering (ICAE)
PIMA: Prairie Implement Manufacturers Association
SAE: Society of Automotive Engineers
Biotechnology
BIO.com
Biotechfind.com: a directory of international links covering the fields of biotechnologies and biofinances and including a keyword-based search engine.
Biotechnology Industry Organization
Biotechnology Information Institute
Biotechnology Law
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Industry Canada Biotechnology Gateway
Bioability
World Lecture Hall - Biotechnology
WWW Virtual Library: Biotechnology
Environmental Engineering:
Water Environment Federation
Finite Element Methods:
Internet Finite Element Resources
Government Organizations:
Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada
Canadian Agricultural Energy End-Use Data & Analysis Centre
Canadian Forest Service
Environment Canada
National Research Council Canada
PAMI: Prairie Agricultural Machinery Institute
PFRA: Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Administration
Government of Saskatchewan with links for Agriculture & Environment Departments
SRC: Saskatchewan Research Council
United States Department of Agriculture
Hydrology:
Hydrology Web
Centre for Ecology and Hydrology (UK)
Global Hydrology and Climate Centre
Universities Water Information Network (UWIN)
Water Resources of the United States from the US Geological Survey.
Water Resources Center Archive
Wetlist
Irrigation:
Irrigation Association of Austrailia
Irrigation Engineering software
American Society of Irrigation Consultants
|