|
Agricultural & Bioresource Engineering:
Selected Library Resources
| Engineering Information |
Abstracts, Indexes & Computerized Searching |
Handbooks |
| Standards | Internet
Resources |
The following is a list of some of the more important information resources in the University of Saskatchewan Libraries relevant to the area of Agricultural Engineering.
It is NOT a comprehensive list.
If an item is not on the shelf at the location indicated, please check the online public catalogue for its current status. If it is still not clear why the item is not available, please enquire at the nearest Library Circulation or Reference Desk.
Abstracts and indexes often need some practice to use effectively. Most contain instructions on their use. However, if any difficulties are encountered, Library staff are available to assist you.
There are a number of other informational guides to the resources in the University of Saskatchewan Library that may be of use to you. Check in each of the Branch Libraries for further information.
ANTHONY, L. J. ed. Information sources in engineering. 2nd ed. 1985.
ENGIN T10.7 .U83 1985
BATIK, A. L. A guide to standards. Parker, CO: the author,1989.
ENGIN T59 .B333 1989
CANADA. INDUSTRY CANADA. A guide to patents. Ottawa: Industry Canada, 1997.
ENGIN/Ref T339 .G85 1997
CHEN, Ching-chih. Scientific and technical information sources. 2nd ed. 1987.
MAIN/Ref Z7401 .C48 1987
DREW, W. ed. Key guide to electronic resources: agriculture. 1995.
ENGIN/Ref S494.5 .A39K49 1995
GORDON, T. T. & COOKFAIR, A. S. Patent fundamentals for scientists and engineers. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 1995.
ENGIN T339 .G67 1995
HALL, C. W. ed. The literature of agricultural engineering. 1992.
ENGIN S674.3 .L58 1992
HURT, C. D. Information sources in science and technology. 3rd ed. 1998.
ENGIN Q158.5 .H87 1998
KNIGHT, H. J. Patent strategy for researchers and research managers. NY: Wiley, 1996.
ENGIN KF3120 .Z9K58 1996
KONOLD, W. G. et al. What every engineer should know about patents. 2nd ed. 1989.
ENGIN KF3114.8 .E54W48 1989
MALINOWSKY, H. R. Reference sources in engineering, medicine, and agriculture. 1994.
ENGIN/Ref Q158.5 .M359 1994
MANDEVILLE, T. D. Understanding novelty: information, technological change, and the patent system. Norwood, NJ: Ablex, 1996.
ENGIN T212 .M294 1996
McBURNEY, M. ed. Key guide to electronic resources: engineering. 1995.
ENGIN/Ref TA145 .K497 1995
MILDREN, K. W. & HICKS, P. J., eds. Information sources in engineering. 1996.
ENGIN/Ref T10.5 .I.49 1996
MOUNT, E. & KOVACS, B. Using science and technology information sources. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 1991.
ENGIN/Ref Q224 .M68 1991
POWELL, R. H. ed. Handbooks and tables in science and technology. 3rd.ed.1994.
MAIN/Ref Q199 .H26 1994
PRITCHARD, E. Literature searching in science, technology, and agriculture. 2nd. ed. New York: Dekker, 1996.
ENGIN Z699.5 .S3P74 1996
RICCI, P. L. & PERRY, L. Standards: a resource and guide for identification, selection, and acquisition. St. Paul, MN: the authors, 1990.
ENGIN/Ref TA368 .R53 1990
SHARPE, C. C. Patent, trademark, and copyright searching on the Internet. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 2000.
ENGIN T210 .S53 20000
THOMAS, B. J. The World Wide Web for scientists and engineers: a complete reference for navigating, researching, and publishing online. Bellingham: SPIE, 1998.
ENGIN Q179.97 .T56 1998
WALKER, R. D. Patents as scientific and technical literature. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1995.
ENGIN T210 .W34 1995
WALKER, R. D. & HURT, C. D. Scientific and technical literature: an introduction to forms of communication. Chicago: American Library Association, 1990.
ENGIN Q223 .W34 1990
WHERRY, T. L. Patent searching for librarians and inventors. Chicago: American Library Association, 1995.
ENGIN T210 .W54 1995
Note: Indexes and abstracts are tools for finding information in journal publications, many of which may be available in the University of Saskatchewan Libraries. To find out whether the Libraries subscribe to a particular journal, check the Journal Title Index in the Catalogue.
As well as the printed sources, there are several computerised databases that are of interest to Agricultural Engineers:
AGRICOLA:
Produced by the US Department of Agriculture, contains citations from the items in
agriculture and related areas that have been acquired by the National Agricultural Library.
Corresponds in part to the printed Bibliography of Agriculture. Covers from 1970. Also
available on Compact Disk through the Libraries' U-SEARCH service.
ASAE AGRICULTURAL ENGINEERING INDEX:
The ASAE Agricultural Engineering Index is available through the World Wide Web. It is made available by the University of California, Davis, for the ASAE. This computerized index includes all technical articles appearing in ASAE periodicals since 1950, along with searching software. In addition to citations of articles published in ASAE periodicals, citations of articles in Canadian Agricultural Engineering (since 1963), Journal of Agricultural Engineering Research (since 1956), Agricultural Mechanization in Asia, Africa and Latin America (since 1971), Grundlagen der Landtechnik / Landtechnik (since 1965), Transactions of the Chinese Society of Agricultural Machinery (since 1984), Journal of the Japanese Society for Agricultural Machinery (since 1985), The International Agricultural Engineering Journal (since 1992), the Journal of Agricultural Machinery (since 1992), The Misr Agricultural Engineering Journal (since 1995) and 3500 selected, unpublished ASAE papers (since 1980) are included in the index system.
The print version, whose coverage starts in 1907, is at:
ENGIN/Ref Z5074 .E6H17.
BIBLIOGRAPHY OF AGRICULTURE:
MAIN/Ref QK1 .U5B1 and on U-SEARCH as AGRICOLA
BIOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS
Biological Abstracts on CD provides the most comprehensive coverage of worldwide journal literature in the life sciences. This database enables researchers and students to easily retrieve references to research reported in life sciences journals. Nearly 6,000 international journals are monitored for inclusion, representing virtually every life science discipline such as agriculture, biochemistry, biotechnology, ecology, immunology, microbiology, neuroscience, pharmacology, public health, and toxicology. Available on CD-ROM through the Libraries' U-SEARCH service, 1990 - present. Printed volumes 1927 - 1989 at:
MAIN QH301 .B615
CAB ABSTRACTS:
Produced by the Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux. Contains citations and abstracts of the worldwide literature in the agricultural sciences and related areas of applied biology. Corresponds to the 26 main abstracting journals published by C.A.B., including Agricultural Engineering Abstracts. Covers from 1973. Available on Compact Disk through the Libraries' U-SEARCH service,1984 - present.
CHEMICAL ABSTRACTS
Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) produces the world's largest and most comprehensive databases of chemical information. The principal databases, CHEMICAL ABSTRACTS (CA) and REGISTRY, include nearly 14 million abstracts of chemistry-related literature and patents and more than 18 million substance records respectively. CAS is located in Columbus, Ohio and is a division of the American Chemical Society. Includes coverage of many aspects of biotechnology and bioresource engineering.
THOR/Ref Z5523 .C51 (older volumes in MAIN)
COMPENDEX WEB:
The computerised equivalent of the printed Engineering Index, covering all aspects of technology literature worldwide from 1970. Available from the UofS campus via the World Wide Web.
The print version of Engineering Index, from 1907, is at:
ENGIN/Ref Z5851 .E571
and the we have 1986 - 1997 on CD-ROM at:
ENGIN/Res Z5851 .C65
CURRENT CONTENTS: ENGINEERING, TECHNOLOGY & APPLIED SCIENCES.
U-SEARCH
CURRENT CONTENTS: AGRICULTURE, BIOLOGY, & ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCES.
U-SEARCH
ENERGY IN AGRICULTURE.
ENGIN/Micro S494.5 E5E5
HYDAT:
HYDAT Hydrodata Canadian Surface Water, contains quantitative surface water data from almost a century of observations of stream flows and lake levels by the Water Survey of Canada and cooperating agencies up to 1988. This is the data contained in the Hydex discharge and level files of Environment Canada. Data for the whole period of record for all 10 provinces and both territories are covered. On CD-ROM at:
ENGIN/Res GB1229 .H94
NTIS:
The NTIS database from 1990 is available free on the WWW, using a basic search engine, but providing no abstracts. Full subject searching of the entire NTIS database (with abstracts) is available as a fee-based service. The NTIS database covers US Government-sponsored research, development, and engineering reports plus analyses prepared by federal agencies, their contractors, or grantees. Truly multi-disciplinary, this database covers a wide spectrum of subjects including: administration and management, agriculture and food, building, engineering, medicine, biology, and much more. Documents can be ordered online.
PROQUEST DIGITAL DISSERTATIONS:
ProQuest Digital Dissertations is the Web version of Dissertation Abstracts. With more than 1.5 million entries, UMI's Dissertation Abstracts database is the one central, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester; those published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts, written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Of the 1.5 million titles listed, UMI offers over a million in full text. For these titles, the database citation includes UMI's order number. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities. We add some 47,000 new dissertations and 12,000 new theses to the database each year.
SAE PUBLICATIONS & STANDARDS DATABASE ON CD-ROM:
From the Society of Automotive Engineers. Comprehensive coverage of technical information published by SAE including fully-detailed summaries, bibliographic information, and networking capabilities. Covers standards, specifications, articles, books, and all technical papers up to and including the 1997 SAE International Congress. Available on CD-ROM in the Engineering Library at:
ENGIN/Res TL1 .M68
SCIENCE CITATION INDEX:
MAIN/Ref Z7401 .S49
WATER RESOURCES ABSTRACTS:
Prepared from materials collected by over 50 water research centres and institutes in the United States. The file covers a wide range of water resource topics, including water resource economics, ground and surface water hydrology, metropolitan water resources planning and management, etc. The collection is particularly strong in the literature on water planning, water cycle, and water quality. Coverage is from 1968. Available on CD-ROM in the Engineering Library at:
ENGIN/Res GB651 .S45
Automotive Fuels Reference Book.
ENGIN TP343 .O.89 1995
Boundary Element Reference Book.
ENGIN/Ref TA347 .B69B6 1988
Canadian Farm Buildings Handbook.
ENGIN S563 .C36 1988
Control Handbook.
ENGIN/Ref TJ213 .C6593 1996
CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics.
ENGIN/Ref QD65 .H23
CRC Handbook of Energy Utilization in Agriculture.
ENGIN S494.5 .E5H36
Electronic Gieck's Engineering Formulas [CD-ROM].
ENGIN TA151 .G485 1995
Encyclopedia of Food Engineering.
ENGIN/Ref TP368.2 .H35 1986
Engineering Formulas: Conversions, Definitions, and Tables.
ENGIN/Ref TA151 .S594 1996
Engineering Mathematics Handbook.
ENGIN/Ref TA332 .T85 1998
Erosion and Sediment Control Handbook.
ENGIN TC423 .G645 1986
Finite Element Handbook.
ENGIN TA347 .F5F54 1987
Food properties database [computer file].
ENGIN TX531 .S65 1993
Food properties Handbook.
ENGIN TX541 .F67 1995
Handbook for Agrohydrology
ENGIN S605 .M55 1994
Handbook of Applied Mathematics for Engineers and Scientists.
ENGIN TA332 .K87 1991
Handbook of Engineering in Agriculture.
ENGIN S675 .C77 1988
Handbook of Food Engineering.
ENGIN TP370.4 .H37 1997
Handbook of Food Engineering Practice.
ENGIN TP370.4 .H36 1992
Handbook of Energy for World Agriculture.
ENGIN S494.5 .E5S765 1990
Handbook of Ground Water Development.
ENGIN TD407 .H36 1990
Handbook of Industrial Drying.
ENGIN TP363 .H2864 1987
Handbook of Modern Sensors.
ENGIN TA165 .F72 1997
Handbook of Numerical Analysis Applications, with Programs forEngineers and Scientists.
ENGIN QA297 .P26 1984
Handbook of Physical Quantities.
ENGIN/Ref QC61 .H36 1997
Handbook of Powder Science and Technology.
ENGIN TP156 .P3H35 1997
Handbook of Pulping and Papermaking.
ENGIN/Ref TS1175 .B54 1996
Handbook of Software for Scientists and Engineers.
ENGIN QA76.754 .H35 1996
Handbook of Systems Engineering and Management.
ENGIN TA168 .H33 1999
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Engineering.
ENGIN/Ref TA9 .M36 1993
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Environmental Science and Engineering.
ENGIN/Ref QH540.4 .M14 1993
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology. 7th ed.
GEOPHY/Ref Q121 .M14 1992
McGraw-Hill Handbook of Essential Engineering Information and Data.
ENGIN/Ref TA151 .M34 1991
Measurement, instrumentation, and sensors handbook
ENGIN QC39 .M428 1999
Newnes Engineering and Physical Science Pocket Book.
ENGIN/Ref TA151 .B47 1996
Practical Handbook of Agricultural Science.
ENGIN S501.2 .P73 1990
Practical Handbook of Ground-Water Monitoring.
ENGIN TD426 .P73 1991
Society of Automotive Engineers. SAE Handbook.
ENGIN/Ref TL151 .S67
Standard Handbook of Engineering Calculations. 3rd ed.
ENGIN/Ref TA332 .S73 1995
Transforms and Applications Handbook.
ENGIN/Ref QA601 .T73 1996
Water Resources Handbook.
ENGIN TD345 .H257 1996
American Society of Agricultural Engineers. Agricultural Engineers Yearbook of Standards.
ENGIN/Ref S671 .A279
American Society for Testing and Materials Standards.
ENGIN TA401 .A51
Canadian Electrical Code.
ENGIN/Ref TA368 .C22C .C22.1
Canadian Farm Building Code.
ENGIN/Ref TH226 .N27C3 1995
Canadian Standards Association. Standards.
ENGIN TA368 .C22
National Building Code of Canada.
ENGIN/Ref TH226 .N27N2
Prairie Agricultural Machinery Institute. Reports.
ENGIN/Ref S760 .C2P2
Society of Automotive Engineers. SAE Handbook.
ENGIN/Ref TL151 .S67
As well, much information on standards and specifications can be found through the Standards Council Of Canada WWW pages and links.
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
KEY TO LOCATIONS
| ENGIN | Engineering Library |
| GEOPHY | Geology/Physics Library |
| MAIN | Main Library |
| U-SEARCH | Library Electronic Information System |
| Res | Reserve Collection |
| Ref | Reference Collection |
| Micro | Microform Collection |
| Ser | Serial Reading Room |
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
Note: This list is highly selective - the resources available change even as you read this. The sites selected are intended to provide further links to more relevant sites. Remember also that they are not mutually exclusive - because a site is listed under one topic does not necessarily mean that you will not find useful information and/or links on other topics.
| Agricultural Machinery | Agriculture | Associations & Societies | Biotechnology | Environmental Engineering | Finite Elements | Government Organizations | Hydrology | Irrigation | Journal Tables of Contents | Patents and Trademarks |
Agricultural Machinery WWW Server
AgriWeb Canada
Internet Resources for Agriculture
World-Wide Web Virtual Library: Agriculture
Associations and Societies - General Lists
American Society of Agricultural Engineers (ASAE)
APEGS: Association of Professional Engineers & Geoscientists of Saskatchewan
Canadian Engineering Societies
Canadian Society of Agricultural Engineering (CSAE)
Canadian Water Resources Association
Council for Agricultural Science and Technology (CAST)
International Commission of Agricultural Engineering (ICAE)
PIMA: Prairie Implement Manufacturers Association
SAE: Society of Automotive Engineers
SES: Saskatoon Engineering Society
BIO Online
BIOTECH: Internet Directory of Biotechnology Resources
Biotechnology Industry Organization
Biotechnology Information Institute
Biotechnology Law Web Server
Ethical, Legal and Social Issues in Science - from Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.
InfoAgBiotech - from Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
InfoBiotech Canada
Institute for Biotechnology Information
World Lecture Hall - Biotechnology
WWW Virtual Library: Biotechnology
Environmental Engineering:
Water Environment WEB: the official WEB site of the Water Environment Federation
World Lecture Hall - Environmental Engineering
Pollution Watch Scorecard - Information on pollution in communities throughout Canada.
Internet Finite Element Resources
Government Organizations:
Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada
Canadian Agricultural Energy End-Use Data & Analysis Centre
Canadian Forest Service
Environment Canada
National Hydrology Research Institute
National Research Council Canada
PAMI: Prairie Agricultural Machinery Institute
PFRA: Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Administration
Saskatchewan Agriculture & Food
Saskatchewan Environment & Resource Management
SRC: Saskatchewan Research Council
United States Department of Agriculture
Hydrology:
Hydrological Modeling Resources
Hydrology Indices - Oregon Graduate Institute
Internet Jump Station
http://www2.uwin.siu.edu/Universities Water Information Network (UWIN)
Water Resources of the United States from the US Geological Survey.
Water Resources on the Internet
Wetlist
World-Wide Web Virtual Library - Irrigation
Comments to: Engineering Librarian enmail@moondog.usask.ca
updated: April 2001
|