Honorary Degrees

N.B.: The detail displayed about each honorary degree recipient varies, as the database was compiled from a variety of sources. However, more information may be available at the University Archives.

Peggy McKercher - Chancellor, 1997 (Photograph Collection, S-692)
Name: Peggy McKercher, C.M., S.O.M., B.A.
Convocation date: May 29, 2002
Discipline / contribution: community service
Citation / biographical information:
Peggy McKercher has made outstanding contributions to her alma mater, her city, her province and country in areas of enormous significance. Mrs. McKercher graduated from the University of Saskatchewan where she was active in student government and excelled as an all-round athlete. She was a recipient of the Spirit of Youth Award, and is a member of the University’s Athletic Wall of Fame. She is a former faculty member. Mrs. McKercher served as the University representative and subsequent Chair of the Meewasin Valley Authority in its formative years, contributing to an innovative and invaluable concept in civic conservation, beautification and development. Her leadership and administrative skills were also utilized as Vice-Chair of Wanuskewin Heritage Park, which was developed and built by MVA, and which houses a state of the art University of Saskatchewan Archaeological lab interpreting 6000 years of Plains Indian history.
Peggy McKercher’s appreciation of history and our cultural heritage is further manifested in her service as a Board member of the National Capital Commissions’ Canadiana Fund, the Saskatchewan Arts Board, and most recently as the Saskatchewan representative on the Trans Canada Trail Foundation Advisory Board. Peggy McKercher has chaired the University’s Committee on Heritage Buildings, and has worked tirelessly in support of the restoration of our beautiful College Building. Mrs. McKercker’s skills and energies have been directed in service on the Mayor’s South Downtown Task Force, the Saskatchewan Medical Research Foundation, the Saskatchewan Order of Merit Advisory Committee, and the Canadian Water Resources Board of Directors. She has served as chair of the Sherbrooke Community Centre Fund Raising Campaign. She was the first woman to be elected to the Rural Municipality of Corman Park Council and served as Deputy Reeve and on a range of committees.
Peggy McKercher’s ongoing love of sports and understanding of the positive force physical activity can be in our lives, led to her work on the Jeux Canada Games Board of Directors and the ParticipACTION Board of Directors. Mrs. McKercher was honoured as Saskatoon Citizen of the Year in 1989, and has been the recipient of numerous other awards including the Rosalie Early Memorial Award; the Governor General’s Canada 125 Award; the Ernst and Young, Bank of Montreal Award for Socially Responsible Entrepreneur of the Year, Western Canada for 1994. In 1995 Peggy McKercher was invested in the Order of Canada. On November 21, 2001 she was awarded the Saskatchewan Order of Merit.
In 1995 Peggy McKercher assumed the role of Chancellor of the University of Saskatchewan and her term of office concluded in 2001. For six years Peggy McKercker’s quiet dignity, gracious personality and sound wisdom served the University of Saskatchewan in ceremony, governance and everyday life in an outstanding manner. Her work on behalf of this University, city, province and nation are truly worthy of recognition.

Degree received: Doctor of Laws
Degree presented by: Peter MacKinnon, President

Return to main list: by date | by name