GRIEVANCES OF FARMERS. The Solid Yeomanry of Southern Manitoba in Convention.

A PROTECTIVE UNION IS ESTABLISHED. Demonstrations at Manitou, Pomeroy, and Other Points.

[Special to the Winnipeg Daily Sun.]

MANITOU, Dec. 6. -- The mass meeting of the farmers of Southern Manitoba, to which delegates were chosen at various gatherings throughout the country during the past week, was held here yesterday, and was a great success as regards the attendance and the earnest enthusiasm displayed. Farmers were gathered together from all parts of the southern portion of the province, representatives being present from as distant a part as the westerly part of the Turtle Mountain district. The farmers showed that they were thoroughly alive to the great importance of the movement. The largest room in the Hotel de Stewart was filled to overflowing. The chairman was Mr. Donald Campbell, while Mr. Richards filled the position of secretary. The committee appointed to prepare a constitution and by-laws reported, recommending the adoption of the name of “The Manitoba and Northwest Farmers’ Protective Union,” and the following as the objects of the union:

1. To concentrate the efforts of the agriculturists of Manitoba and the Northwest in securing the repealing of laws that militate against their interests.

2. The removal by agitation and other lawful means, of the railway and all the other monopolies that prevent the securing of a free market for the products of the soil.

3. The securing of the cheapest freights possible to the markets of the world.

4. The removal of unjust restrictions upon trade, and generally to guard the interests of the people against unjust aggression from any quarter whatsoever.

5. The formation of subordinate unions in every portion of the province. Able addresses were delivered by the leading farmers present, some declaring that they would rather leave the country than submit to such monopolies as oppress them. A number of instances were related where good, sound wheat had been condemned as frozen, and had to be sold at a low price in consequence. The general feeling was that the farmers should combine and send their wheat to Ontario themselves, where it is thought it will command a good price, owing to the lightness of the Ontario crop. The election of officers resulted in the following being chosen: President, Donald D. Campbell, Manitou; 1st vice-president, William Tapley, Nelson; 2nd vice-president, James Laidlaw, Clearwater; secretary, E. A. Bailey, Nelson; treasurer, R. Owens, Archibald; directors, T. Duncan, Nelson; J. McTavish, Clearwater; F. N. Stevenson, Calf Mountain; W. D. Ruttan, Ruttanville; and John Turnbull, Clearwater.

Prev Page - Next Page

[ Home ] [ Search ]