Workshops

Attend a free study skills workshop in the fall and winter terms on a range of topics including time management, note taking, and exam preparation. The workshops are facilitated by trained learning support PAL peer mentors and are designed with an undergraduate student audience in mind.

All Term 2 Workshops

The following is a complete listing of all study skills workshop for Term 2.  Workshop for a particular month will be available for registration starting the 15th of the previous month.

Planning for Success
Tuesday, Jan. 8, 11:30 am-12:20 pm
Tuesday, Jan. 15, 1-1:50 pm

Getting Back on Track
Wednesday, Jan. 16, 1:30-2:20 pm
Wednesday, Jan. 23, 1:30-2:20 pm

Time Management
Wednesday, Jan. 16, 2:30-3:20 pm
Monday, Jan. 28, 1:30-2:20 pm
Thursday, Feb. 7, 11:30 am-12:20 pm
Monday, Mar. 18, 4:30-5:20 pm

Procrastination
Monday, Jan. 21, 1:30-2:20 pm
Thursday, Feb. 28, 1-1:50 pm
Tuesday, Mar. 12, 11:30 am-12:20 pm

5-Step Study Cycle
Thursday, Jan. 10, 11:30 am-12:20 pm
Tuesday, Jan. 15, 4-4:50 pm
Thursday, Jan. 24, 10-10:50 am
Thursday, Feb. 7, 1-1:50 pm

Study Strategies
Monday, Jan. 14, 1:30-2:20 pm
Thursday, Jan. 31, 11:30 am-12:20 pm
Monday, Feb. 11, 1:30-2:20 pm
Tuesday, Feb. 26, 11:30 am-12:20 pm
Thursday, Mar. 7, 11:30 am-12:20 pm

Exam Skills
Monday, Jan. 21, 10:30-11:20  am
Wednesday, Jan. 30, 4:30-5:20 pm
Thursday, Mar. 21, 11:30 am-12:20 pm
Tuesday, Mar. 26, 4-4:50 pm

Exam Skills: Multiple-Choice Questions
Wednesday, Feb. 13, 1:30-2:20 pm
Wednesday, Feb. 27, 1:30-2:20 pm
Thursday, Mar. 21, 1-1:50 pm

Exam Skills: Short, Long, and Essay Questions
Thursday, Feb. 7, 1-1:50 pm
Tuesday, Feb. 26, 4-4:50 pm

Exam Anxiety
Thursday, Jan. 24, 1-1:50 pm
Thursday, Mar. 14, 1-1:50 pm

Reading and Note Taking
Thursday Jan. 17, 11:30 am-12:20 pm
Thursday, Jan. 31, 1-1:50 pm
Thursday, Mar. 7, 1-1:50 pm

One-to-One Appointments

Student Learning Services is excited to announce an addition to our programming. Usask students can now book a 25 or 50-minute appointment to talk one-to-one with an Academic Skills Peer Mentor. Appointments take place in the blue Learning Pod #1 on the first floor of the Murray Library.
Students can request help with topics in learning strategies such as exam anxiety, note-taking, time management, test preparation, and in using the library.

Visit our appointments page for the Term 2 schedule.

Study Skills Resources

Enrich your learning and improve your academic performance by browsing our collection of online resources and tip sheets.

Contact

Contact Gina Koehn if you have questions about study skills support or want to set up a time to meet with a Learning Specialist.