Travelling USask students, faculty, and staff

  • Borrowing privileges and fines for services vary among libraries. 
  • You must be in good standing at the University Library (account not expired, no fines) to borrow from other libraries.
    • Other libraries may contact Ask Us to confirm that you are in good standing. 
  • You are expected to follow the rules of your host library including loan periods and fines.
  • Contact your destination library to learn about their privileges and fines before you depart. 

Borrowing from Canadian University Libraries

USask is currently part of a National Reciprocal Borrowing Agreement that ensures that faculty, staff, and students from participating Canadian universities are provided in-person access to the library collections of all participating universities.

The Council of Prairie and Pacific University Libraries (COPPUL) is the group the University of Saskatchewan is a member of which allows faculty, staff and students to borrow from other libraries participating in the National Reciprocal Borrowing Agreement.

Before leaving USask

  • Visit a Library Services desk in person, or send an email to
  • Members in good standing will be issued a COPPUL card valid to the end of the academic year (Aug 31).

At the library you are visiting

  • Bring your COPPUL card to the staff at the check-out desk.
  • You will be issued a separate library card to use at that library.
  • Keep your COPPUL card, you may need to present it again.

Borrowing from University Libraries in the United States

Through our association with Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) and the Association of Research Libraries, reciprocal borrowing privileges are extended to USask faculty at participating research libraries across North America. Privileges vary - check with the institution that you plan to use before you leave.

Before leaving USask

  • Visit a Library Services desk in person, or send an email to
  • Members in good standing will be issued an OCLC card valid to the end of the academic year (Aug 31).

At the library you are visiting

  • Go to the check-out desk and present your OCLC card.

Borrowing from the USask Library

  • All visiting reciprocal borrowers must present appropriate identification to borrow items from the University Library.
    • In most cases, this means your identification card from your home library consortium (COPPUL, OCUL, BCI, CAAL, or OCLC).
  • Before being granted borrowing privileges at USask, we will contact your home institution to ensure that you are in good standing (account not expired, no fines)

Visiting reciprocal borrowers have access to: 

  • Borrow up to 50 regular loan items for 30 days.
  • Standard loan periods and fines apply. Unpaid fines are reported to your home library for collection. 
  • No access to items on course reserve. 
  • Free access to interlibrary loans.
  • Access to e-resources from library computers only. Generally, you will have online access through your home institution. 

Sask Reciprocal Borrower Program (U of R and Sask Polytechnic)

The libraries at the University of Saskatchewan (USask), University of Regina (U of R) and Saskatchewan Polytechnic have a reciprocal borrowing program for current faculty, staff, and students which allows:

  • in-person borrowing of library resources at any participating library (to 50 items). 
  • the ability to return borrowed items to any participating library

To participate in this program, you must be in good standing at your home institution library (have a valid library card and no outstanding charges or overdue items). Our library staff will contact your home institution for confirmation. Faculty, staff, and students at other Saskatchewan post-secondary institutions are also eligible if they have library borrowing privileges under pre-existing or future agreements with either the U of R, USask, or Sask Polytech.

National Reciprocal Borrowing Agreement Partners

COPPUL: Council of Prairie and Pacific University Libraries

  • Athabasca University  
  • Brandon University  
  • Capilano University  
  • Concordia University of Edmonton  
  • Kwantlen Polytechnic University  
  • Macewan University   
  • Mount Royal University   
  • Royal Roads University  
  • Simon Fraser University  
  • Thompson Rivers University  
  • Trinity Western University  
  • University of Alberta  
  • University of British Columbia  
  • University of Calgary  
  • University of Lethbridge  
  • University of Manitoba  
  • University of Northern British Columbia  
  • University of Regina  
  • University of Saskatchewan   
  • University of The Fraser Valley  
  • University of Victoria   
  • University of Winnipeg  
  • Vancouver Island University  
OCUL: Ontario Council of University Libraries
  • Algoma University 
  • Brock University 
  • Carleton University 
  • Lakehead University 
  • Laurentian University 
  • McMaster University 
  • Nipissing University 
  • OCAD University 
  • Ontario Tech University (formerly UOIT) 
  • Queen's University 
  • Royal Military College 
  • Toronto Metropolitan University (formerly Ryerson University) 
  • Trent University 
  • University of Guelph
  • University of Ottawa
  • University of Toronto
  • University of Waterloo,
  • University of Windsor
  • Western University 
  • Wilfrid Laurier University 
  • York University 
BCI: Bureau de coopération interuniversitaire
  • Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean
  • École de technologie supérieure
  • École nationale d’administration publique
  • HEC Montréal
  • Institut national de la recherche scientifique
  • Polytechnique Montréal
  • Université Bishop’s
  • Université Concordia
  • Université Laval
  • Université McGill
  • Université TÉLUQ
  • Université de Montréal
  • Université de Sherbrooke
  • Université du Québec à Chicoutimi
  • Université du Québec à Montréal
  • Université du Québec à Rimouski
  • Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières
  • Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue
  • Université du Québec en Outaouais
  • Université du Québec – Siège social
CAAL: The Council of Atlantic Academic Libraries
  • Acadia University 
  • Atlantic School of Theology 
  • Cape Breton University 
  • Collège communautaire du Nouveau-Brunswick 
  • College of the North Atlantic 
  • Dalhousie University 
  • Holland College 
  • Memorial University of Newfoundland 
  • Mount Allison University 
  • Mount Saint Vincent University 
  • New Brunswick Community College 
  • Nova Scotia Community College 
  • NSCAD University 
  • Saint Mary’s University 
  • St. Francis Xavier University 
  • Université de Moncton 
  • Université Sainte-Anne 
  • University of King’s College 
  • University of New Brunswick 
  • University of Prince Edward Island